Here’s what happens if users don’t accept WhatsApp’s new privacy policy

Looks like WhatsApp is prepared to slowly shut out a lot of their users. I have it installed for a couple of local groups that I’m a member of but all the  important stuff moved to Signal and Telegram a few years ago.  A quick check shows a slew of Messenger apps on my iPhone: Facebook, WhatsApp, Signal, Telegram, Slack, Teams..:

[…] We now know what will happen if people decide not to agree with the changes.

According to TechCrunch, the most popular chat app in the world will ‘slowly ask’ its users to sign up and will warn them that failing to do so will stop them having access to the app’s features. Those that decline will still be able to use WhatsApp but in a severely restricted way. ‘For a short time, these users will be able to receive calls and notifications, but will not be able to read or send messages from the app,’ the company told TechCrunch.

Eventually, they will stop being able to use the app altogether. WhatsApp is becoming more closely tied with Facebook, which acquired it in 2014 (AFP via Getty Images)

The new policy will come into effect on May 15 for users around the world. WhatsApp actually knocked the deadline back several months after the initial outcry from users.

The entire process has prompted a backlash from plenty of WhatsApp users (including Elon Musk) and, as a result, rival services like Telegram and Signal have seen their usage numbers skyrocket.

[…]

Original article